The Accounts

The Official Student Publication of University of the Philippines- College of Management, Iloilo City

UPV Celebrates its 61st Presence in Iloilo

by: Joseph Anthony G. Escaran
UPV Office of Alumni Relations

UPV highlights the UP Centennial with week-long activities in to celebrate the  61st UP Presence in Iloilo on July 21-26, 2008.  The alumni and the entire UP community join hands to make this memorable occasion an event to remember.

The UP SILAK-UP SILAB will sponsor the Fireworks display at UPV Iloilo City campus to bright-up the opening night of the Foundation Week on July 22, 2008 at 6:30 p.m. The attendees will have to jam all night long with the Spirit of ’67 at the UPV Auditorium right after the Fireworks display.

The UPV College of Arts & Sciences Alumni Association and the UP High School in Iloilo Alumni Association have organized the Centennial Lunch on July 25, 2008.  The activity will start with a mass at 7:30 a.m. followed by the releasing of balloons and a motorcade around the streets of Iloilo City.  Alumni with UP Centennial Commemorative plates are encouraged to join.  UPV CAS AA will award the 100 Model Iskolar ng Bayan after the motorcade.  The 100 Iskolars will have to be chosen by the respective batches from 1948-2008. The high school students will showcase their talents in their presentation dubbed, “High School Palabas.” Two live bands (Binhi and Totong Villaruz) will play during the centennial lunch from 12 noon until 5 p.m.

UPV will highlight the celebration with the UP Alumni and Faculty Centennial ( 1908-2008 ) Homecoming at the Iloilo Grand Hotel on July 26, 2008.  Registration will start at 2:00 pm, Cocktails at 3:00 pm, and Dinner at 7:00 pm.  UP Alumni Association Iloilo (UPAA Iloilo) will award the Centennial Awardees: Dr. Ma. Nuria B. Castells in the field of Education, Congressman Arthur D. Defensor in the field of Public Service, Mr. Martin G. Genodepa in the field of Visual Arts, Prof. Kevin Peter Amado P. Piamonte in the field of Performing Arts, Dr. Juliana S. Seneriches in the field of Medicine, and Mr. Edwin V. Valencia in the field of Economics & Business Administration.  UPAA Iloilo President Dr.Reynaldo M. Gustilo will also give the UPAA Iloilo Presidential Centennial Awards to Gov. Felipe Hilan A. Nava, Gov. Salvacion Z. Perez, Gov. Victor A. Tanco, Gov. Niel D. Tupas, and Sen. Franklin M. Drilon.  The homecoming is organized by UPAA Iloilo in cooperation with the UPV Office of Alumni Relations.

Filed under: News

One Response

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Free Student Publication of a Free Student Body

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

July 2008
%d bloggers like this: